New Discussion юеВ

Re: DCPS is "free" isn't it?

SOLVED
Go to solution
Art Wiens
Respected Contributor

DCPS is "free" isn't it?

According to the SPD:

The right to use DECprint Supervisor for OpenVMS is included with the Foundation Operating Environment (FOE) for OpenVMS I64, and with the license for the OpenVMS Alpha and OpenVMS VAX operating systems.

In my mind that means it's "free". I have an (Alpha) SPL subscription but it doesn't allow access to the VAX area of distribution. I have asked HP Software Support if I can get a copy of DCPSVAX027, but they say I have to buy the VAX SPL.

You have to pay to be able to run software that doesn't require a(n additional) license? We do pay for annual VMS license support.

Am I wrong to think I am entitled to the DCPS kit for free?

Cheers,
Art
10 REPLIES 10
Art Wiens
Respected Contributor

Just to be clear, we pay annual maintenance for both Alpha and VAX VMS licenses - HP Software Updates Service - which includes "License to Use & SW Updates".

Art
Volker Halle
Honored Contributor

Art,

you may need to purchase the 'media kit'. Or find someone, who can provide that kit for you. You have the rights to use DCPS.

Volker.
Art Wiens
Respected Contributor

Why wouldn't HP be "kind enough" to supply the kit to a paying customer? Apparently the hundreds of thousands of dollars we give them a year (for all our maintenance corporate-wide) isn't enough to give me a freebie for free? Nice.

Art
MarkOfAus
Valued Contributor

Art,

Contact your HP account manager and talk to him/her. I would be surprised if you don't get your software. We asked and received and we spend a bit on support.

Regards,
Mark.
Hoff
Honored Contributor