Advisor

DNS issue

I am trying to do:

$set host servername

I get %SYSTEM-F-NOSUCHNODE, remote node is unknown

but if i do....

$set host servername.fqdn.com

it works.

My BIND settings seem to be correct I can ping servername and get responses.  So how do I get the SET HOST command to know it's fully qualified domain name?

FYI:  I am a VMS newbie, please explain it to me like I am 4 years old.  Thanks!

8 REPLIES 8
KIP
Advisor

Re: DNS issue

Greetings,   Just Add the /TELNET qualifier and the SET HOST should connect fine with a login prompt  -- Username:

Here's a snippit from Set Host Help:

{ IPhostname }
SET HOST/TELNET { IPaddress }
{ }

NOTE

You can specify the IPhostname or the IPaddress

JustinDoss
Advisor

That works, but for our scripts to run properly we need just set host servername to work.

KIP
Advisor

Presuming you are running a fairly recent Version of the OpenVMS native TCPIP stack...

Please Post the results of the following:

$ TCPIP SH HOSTS

$ TCPIP SH NAME_SERV

Regards

Kip

JustinDoss
Advisor

Due to the nature of my network I can't post exact results.  But I can say the only difference between my working machine and my non working one w/ those two commands is of course it's own hostname and the working one has stuff in Path: when executing the tcpip sh name_serv but the non working one does not.  I have attempted to remedy that, assuming it was the problem but I have had no luck.  The TCPIP> Set name_service/system/path=(xxx) will set it there but if I go to @sys$manager:tcpip$config and look at the the Bind Resolver Configuration it is not there.  So I know I am doing something wrong...

KIP
Advisor

Okay, I get that you shoul not post those exact results -  After-all we run vital and secure systems with OpenVMS.    Look at option (3) below (a snippet from TCPIP help on set host) (different context from os level set host)) and adjust it for your site - be sure to do on all nodes of the cluster and that set host should work fine: