1753776 Members
7550 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

DP backup not backing up VMS$COMMON directory

Manikandan.R
Occasional Contributor

DP backup not backing up VMS$COMMON directory

We have an open VMS system with version 7.3-2 which is being backed up by DP version 5.5.
At the DP end the VMS$common directory is shown as file and not as folder so the restore from the DP backup misses the VMS$COMMON directory on the restored disk. Please let me know where the problem is at DP end or VMS end. And also how to recitify the same.
14 REPLIES 14
Karl Rohwedder
Honored Contributor

Re: DP backup not backing up VMS$COMMON directory

I have no knowledge of DP (dataprotector?), but I generally don't trust foreign products to correctly backup a VMS systemdisk.
We therefore regularly create image-backups of our systemdisks on datadisks using backup.exe.
Together with a OS-CD you are online again very quickly.

regards Kalle
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

Well, Data Protector is a HP product, not really foreign and it was ported to OpenVMS by a person that has deep ties into OpenVMS.

Last time I checked, DP did not completely support OpenVMS system disks, though :-(
But you better check the documentation if you can live with these limitations.

I suggest you check if the data is available somewhere as [SYS*]SYSCOMMON.DIR;1

Many OpenVMS systems have a screwed-up system disk with an invalid filename (SYSCOMMON.DIR;1) in the header of VMS$COMMON.DIR;1 or a misplaced primary entry or something else. This problem (if it's yours, too) goes back to VAX/VMS Version 4 and has nothing to do with Data Protector.
Guenther Froehlin
Valued Contributor

The DP VMS client understands hardlinks like [SYSn.SYSCOMMON] on a system disk.