3840 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Decnet plus over IP and proxies

Peter Zeiszler
Trusted Contributor

Decnet plus over IP and proxies

Hi,

I am currently using decnet phase IV and have to try to get decnet over IP operational.  We have one environment using Multinet with Phase IV and am familiar with multinet/decnet configuration - but we are migrating to itaniums using HP TCPIP stack (8.4 openvms) and I have to get same operations working but across different decnet area (8.xxx vs 15.xxx) and geographic locations.  I am new to Phase V.  Tried to migrate 10+ years ago but had issues then and it was cancelled.

I am thinking that I have to install Decnet Plus, run the configuration in advanced mode and setup for local,domain on both ends.  I think the domain option would translate the name to IP and allow communication.

Did I miss anything for basic node to node decnet over IP?

How do I add that name into the proxy?

Would it be "mc authorize add/proxy node_a::system system/d" ?

(we actually have multiple proxies based on different accounts but if I can get one working I can get the reset working)

Would this be same syntax or do I need to add something to indicate that this is now a different node?

5 REPLIES 5
Peter Zeiszler
Trusted Contributor

Guess I should have read a little more cause I found on proxies I should be able to use the fully qualified name.

So it appears it would be:

mc authorize add/proxy node_a.domain.com::system system/d

If that don't work will post again with any messages or errors.

Jeremy Begg
Trusted Contributor

Hi Peter,

You may find you need to add two sets of proxies:

UAF> ADD/PROXY LOCAL:.NODE::USER USER /DEFAULT

UAF> ADD/PROXY NODE.SITE.DOMAIN::USER USER /DEFAULT

The first will be used by nodes which connect using DNA protocol, the second by nodes that use DECnet over IP.  By default, DECnet-Plus will try an IP connection first then try a DNA connection.