1752794 Members
5871 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Departing paradise - OpenVMS

John Donovan_4
Frequent Advisor

Departing paradise - OpenVMS

Well it appears that OpenVMS has nearly come to its end-of-life here and the powers that be are having us move to multiple flavors of unix {shrug}.

There are several applications written in DEC C & Digital FORTRAN running on Alpha/VMS 7.3-2. As a system admin I'll be moving over to HP-UX side and I'd like know, from this illustrious group, if HP offers any migration tools/facilities I can offer to our programmers to go from VMS to HP-UX. Again the programs to port are currently written in DEC C and Digital FORTRAN.
"Difficult to see, always in motion is the future..."
15 REPLIES 15
Jefferson Humber
Honored Contributor

John,

As far as the DEC C goes there are some compiler switches which could help with the migration.

/WARN=ENABLE=PORTABLE is just one in particular which would help to highlight issues in the C which the HP-UX compilers might not like.

Hope this helps,

Jeff
I like a clean bowl & Never go with the zero
Kris Clippeleyr
Honored Contributor

John,
The newest FORTRAN compiler on VMS has the /WARNINGS qualifier, that can be used to signal informationals and warnings concerning non-standard features used. This can be helpful.
However, if your code contains explicit references to system services and/or RTL-routines, you have to find the equivalent routines for HP-UX.
You might find the following worth reading...

http://www.bo.infn.it/alice/alice-doc/mll-doc/migvms/migvms.html

Regards,
Kris (aka Qkcl)
I'm gonna hit the highway like a battering ram on a silver-black phantom bike...
John Donovan_4
Frequent Advisor

Thanks for the replies so far. I've got about 2/3 of the answer. Doesn't HP offer some kind of migration program like they did w/ PDP to VAX & VAX to Alpha and now Alpha to Itanium? Except OpenVMS to unix?
John Donovan_4
Frequent Advisor

I forgot to add: