1753449 Members
6440 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Editor to show FF/CR/LF?

Martin Slimmer
Advisor

Editor to show FF/CR/LF?

It's been a long time since I've had to do this, but I remember there being an editor I can use which would show special characters in a file -- such as FF/CR/LF, etc. However, I can't remember if it was EVE, LSE, EDT, TPU/EDIT, etc.

Can someone help me out?

The view would be something like:

The first lineFF
The Second lineFF
etc.
12 REPLIES 12
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

Re: Editor to show FF/CR/LF?

Try "EDIT /TPU"?
Martin Slimmer
Advisor

No good with edit/tpu. I can edit the file that way, but all I see then is

The first line
The Second line
etc.

The TPU guide has an example procedure that does just this. It can be found at http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/73final/6018/6018pro_014.html.
Martin Slimmer
Advisor

I'm really looking for something editor-related. I know I used to use this, just can't dust off the cobwebs enough to remember.
Martin Slimmer
Advisor

I think I've figured out a way around this -- I'm changing my REFLECTIONS setting to Display the control characters instead of interpret them.
John Gillings
Honored Contributor

Martin,

> REFLECTIONS setting to Display the
> control characters instead of interpret them.

TPU will display any control characters contained in the file as DATA using a glyph of some type (exact details of which depend on your terminal or terminal emulator). TPU does not display any META data (ie: control characters representing the end of records).

When you enable "display control characters", what you see does not necessarily reflect the real contents of the file, instead it shows what the terminal driver has sent to format the file on your screen.