New Discussion юеВ

Execute commands in variables

SOLVED
Go to solution
Fredrik.eriksson
Valued Contributor

Execute commands in variables

Hi,

I have a question regarding DCL scripting. My background is from Unix/Linux and now I need to write some stuff in DCL.

What I want to know (seems to be difficult to get a decent answer from google) is if it's possible to execute a command and get the resulting output string as a variable?

In bash/sh it would look something like this:
#!/bin/bash
myresult=`date`
echo $myresult

This would return what was printed to stdout (equivalent to sys$output in VMS) into the variable $myresult.

Is this possible in DCL scripting? or is there another way that is prefered in DCL scripting?

Best regards
Fredrik Eriksson
9 REPLIES 9
Joseph Huber_1
Honored Contributor

Re: Execute commands in variables

You can have bash with the GNV freeware.

DCL doesn't offer this feature directly, one has to pipe the command into a READ statement reading the output into a DCL symbol, then defining a /JOB logical from the symbol, passing the output backup to the calling process.

A simple procedure to do it looks like this:

$ if f$trnlnm("SYS$PIPE").eqs."" then EXIT
$ read/error=done/end=done sys$pipe line
$ if f$edit(line,"TRIM,COLLAPSE").nes."" then -
$ define/job 'p1' &line
$done:
$ EXIT

If the above is in DCL$PATH:LOGICAL_FROM_PIPE.COM, then use it like this:

PIPE date | @dcl$path:logical_from_pipe MYDATE
mydate = f$trnlnm("MYDATE")

Then DCL symbol mydate contains the output of the date command.

One could write that as a one line command,
PIPE date | (READ sys$pipe line ; define/job mydate &line) ,
but then error handling for the DEFINE/JOB command can make it ugly.

There is somewhere (dcl.openvms.org ?) a more general procedure logicals_from_pipe from Rob.Boyd, which can store multi-line outputs of commands/programs into an array of logicals.
http://www.mpp.mpg.de/~huber
Bojan Nemec
Honored Contributor
Solution

Fredrik,