108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Generating a looping process

SOLVED
Go to solution
Tom Wolf_3
Valued Contributor

Generating a looping process

Hello, I'm an OpenVMS novice and I'm trying to generate a looping process to test the functionality of an OpenView Operations for Windows monitoring policy. The policy checks for looping threads on an OpenVMS server and generates an event when one is found.

Can anyone provide detailed instructions on how to create a looping process on an OpenVMS server? We're running VMS 7.3-2 on an Alpha machine.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you.

Tom Wolf
8 REPLIES 8
Karl Rohwedder
Honored Contributor
Solution

What about a simple DCL procedure:

$ 1: goto 1

loops like a charm...

regards Kalle
Jan van den Ende
Honored Contributor

Tom,

A word of warning on Kalle's procedure: execute it at prio 0 , or risk NOT being able to EVER stop it without hitting the big red one.

If the OV finds Kalle's, try one a little (not much) less simple.

$1:
$ wait 0:0:0.01
$ goto 1

This wil wait 1/100th of a second before repeating itself.
Good monitors should at least find this as well, and then you can try for the limits of sensitivity.

Proost.

Have one on me.

jpe

Don't rust yours pelled jacker to fine doll missed aches.
Jon Pinkley
Honored Contributor

Jan,

While the recommendation to set proc/prio=0 prior to executing a looping DCL procedure is a good one, I don't think it would prevent other processes from getting any CPU time unless it was run at realtime priority, even on a single processor system.

Is there something you know from experience that I am not aware of?

Jon
it depends
Jan van den Ende
Honored Contributor

Jon,

>>>
I don't think it would prevent other processes from getting any CPU time unless it was run at realtime priority
<<<

Strickly speaking, you are right.

But _IF_ such procedure runs at interactive priority, (on a single-CPU system) it is VERY rough competition for anything else.