New Discussion юеВ

Re: Global Section Problem of IA64

SOLVED
Go to solution
Kai.Zou
Advisor

Global Section Problem of IA64

Hi, newbie here.
I had met a problem when porting a system from Alpha to IA64.
When creating Global Section, the space is over, then cleared the other variable's memory space.
In the old alpha system, the link map files showed that, the global section space is very large then the real size. But in the IA64, the link map files shows the global section space the only little greater than the real size.
For more information pls refer to attched file.

My question is:
1. Why this happened?
2. What caused this? The compile or link option? Or some System settings, such page size etc.
3. What should I do to deal with it?
TIA
Best reguards
20 REPLIES 20
Joseph Huber_1
Honored Contributor

Well I don't have IA64 available to prove.
Obviously the psect defined by
plgrp_table[PL_GRP_MAX];
is of different size. How is it declared ? which compiler options used (default integer or float size ?).

What I can see is: on alpha the length of the psect is not a multiple of the page-size: so either there was a hidden error already in the program when creating/mapping the psect to a global section, and this error now becomes effective overmapping something else.

The rules for global section mappings:
begin must be on a page boundary
length must be a multiple of the pagesize
(i.e. the last address must be at a page boundary).
if as in Your case on alpha the psect is not an integral multiple of the page size, then how precisely do You pass the parameters (start-address,end-address,size) to the map global section call ?
http://www.mpp.mpg.de/~huber
Joseph Huber_1
Honored Contributor

And what do You really mean ?
>> global section space is very large then the real size.<<

The linker map knows nothing about a global section, it only has psects. It is your program code mapping the psect to the global section.