Operating System - OpenVMS
1752810 Members
5955 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HELP! Whether the following script is runnable?

stepstepvms
Occasional Contributor

HELP! Whether the following script is runnable?

Hi all, I am a newbie in OpenVMS and with no license/software on hand. Recently I have an urgent task related to extract the openVMS configuration setting. With the help of deathrow.vistech.net I can test some of the commands. However, some commands such as "run authorize" still cannot be run due to the lack of privilege. Would you mind helping me to run, or even just by commenting, whether the script is runnable or not?

Many thanks !
5 REPLIES 5
Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor

stepstepvms,

Welcome to the ITRC OpenVMS Forum!

With all due respect, some modest suggestions:

- When attaching COM files from OpenVMS, please change the file type to ".txt". Many people will have difficulties since many browsers interpret .COM as indicating a binary executable.

- The file appears to be a lengthy (123KB) command file that does a variety of things. It is many pages long.

I suggest that you isolate the part of the script that you have a question about and post the small segment.

Alternatively, get access to a copy of OpenVMS and experiment on it (rather than a production system where incorrect actions from a privileged account can damage production operations.

- Bob Gezelter, http://www.rlgsc.com
Hoff
Honored Contributor

This was also just posted to the OpenVMSHobbyist.org forums, and I've posted a reply over there.

http://www.openvmshobbyist.org/forum/viewthread.php?forum_id=40&thread_id=801