1753487 Members
4460 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

How to read Directory structure of VMS Server

Hemang
Occasional Contributor

How to read Directory structure of VMS Server

Hello, I am new to VMS environment. In my project, the VMS server is migrated to HP(UX) server. I want to create a similar directory structure in HP(UX) server. I don't know how to read the directory structure of VMS server?
Is there any utility available which do this for me? Need help.
11 REPLIES 11
Jess Goodman
Esteemed Contributor

Re: How to read Directory structure of VMS Server

Well the obvious answer to your question is: the DIRECTORY command displays directory sturctures.

If that answer is not what you were looking for perhaps you could be more specific in stating your project requirements.
I have one, but it's personal.
Hemang
Occasional Contributor

Thanks for the reply. Is it possible to differentiate between system files and User created files?
RBrown_1
Trusted Contributor

Generally

$ DIRECTORY :[*...]*.DIR

If you don't know which device or logical name to substitute for , then you will have to do all disks. You can get a list by

$ SHOW DEVICE D

RBrown_1
Trusted Contributor

You asked "Is it possible to differentiate between system files and User created files?"

System files are found in these places:

SYS$SYSDEVICE:[SYSn...]
SYS$SYSDEVICE:[VMS$COMMON...]

There "should not" be user files in these two trees. There "should not" be system files outside of these two trees. But there is no telling what a previous system manager might have done.

Mike Kier
Valued Contributor

VMS doesn't track who created the files, but it will display who currently owns the file and what access is available for various users or holders of various identifiers.