1752618 Members
4268 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: How to read this

Douglas Austin

How to read this

Hi all,
Im trying to figure out how to read this output, im not a VMS engineer just a Backup admin. But were runnign into some thru-put issues and the way i read this I/O statment is that were maxing a disk can you verify

# open files remaining 296/300 (98%)
Direct I/O count/limit 300/300 (100%)
Buffered I/O count/limit 4999/5000 (99%)
BUFIO byte count/limit 294880/294880 (100%)
ASTs remaining 2047/2048 (99%)
Timer entries remaining (99%)
PGFL quota count/limit 31049/32000 (97%)
ENQ quota count/limit 2977/3000 (99%)

The way i read this is that we are about maxing out this disk.. can someone verify the percentages are either Free or used?
10 REPLIES 10
RBrown_1
Trusted Contributor

How did you get this report?

These are per-process quotas and not system wide, and they all show free resources.

For overall system throughput, start with MONITOR SYSTEM, and also read OpenVMS Performance Management (http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/73final/6491/6491pro.html) in the VMS Document Set.

What version of VMS? What are you running it on? What are "thru-put issues"?
Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor

Douglas,

Welcome to the HP ITRC OpenVMS Forum.

Most important initial question: How were these numbers produced? What command? Also, at what point was the command issued?

- Bob Gezelter, http://www.rlgsc.com
abrsvc
Respected Contributor

There really is not much to go on here. From the looks of the values/limits shown, the process was relatively idle when these were recorded.

Rather than chase numbers, please describe the actual problem that you are seeing. For example, you mention throughput issues. What exactly is the issue?

Please include:

1) Source for backup (assuming backup time is the issue)

2) Destination device (disk vs. tape) including device model.

3) Actual backup command used.