New Discussion юеВ

Re: I64 INSTALL /SHARE, process uses more private memory

SOLVED
Go to solution
Lester Dreckow
Advisor

I64 INSTALL /SHARE, process uses more private memory

Hi,
After installing /SHARE an image, processes are using more process global pages, as expected, but they are also using significantly more process private pages.

See attached (on the test server, for just one example inquiry transaction).

As the increase in private memory is much more than the saving due to shared memory, this tends to indicate that installing the image may be detrimental - contrary to the normal expectation.

Am I being paranoid? Are there ways, perhaps with SDA, to see what the private memory is attributed to (I'm an SDA novice)?

The application is an in-house Rdb, Decforms, Cobol interactive transactional application. The production system runs approx 330+ of these processes, consuming some 14GB of the 16GB total memory. No problem as such, but XFC cache reduces to the minimum, and page writing occurs at this load.

I am (was) attempting to assess the potential saving in memory, intending to make more available for Rdb global buffers or row caching.

Regards,
Lester
15 REPLIES 15
Lester Dreckow
Advisor

Some info from the production system.
Wim Van den Wyngaert
Honored Contributor

On VMS 7.3 I tested the same using isql of Sybase.

On install about 600 pages moved from process memory to global memory. As expected.

Also noted that on each iamge activation I got slightly different values (diff of about about 150 pages, t.i. between 3800 and 3950 pages).

fwiw

Wim
Wim
Wim Van den Wyngaert
Honored Contributor

An install with /share=address increased the globalising with about 150 pages. You could try that too (but then all depending images must be install /share=add too).

Note : you must do a remove and install to implement this, not replace.

Wim
Wim
x2084
Trusted Contributor