1752577 Members
5143 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Increment a year

gswanson

Increment a year

Hi everyone,

I apologize if this is not the right form for this question.

My company got a maintenance contract for a VAX Basic program. I have no experience with this.

One of the changes I need to make is to change how the end date is calculated. Currently the end date is Dec 31 of the current year. I need to change that so that the end date is the same as the start date plus a year. So Dec 8 2010 start date and a Dec 8 2011 End Date.

How would I do something like this?

Thanks in advance.
7 REPLIES 7
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

> My company got a maintenance contract for a
> VAX Basic program.

Congratulations.

> I have no experience with this.

Perhaps those congratulations were premature.

> [...]
> How would I do something like this?

Ask the fellow who negotiated the contract?

Hire someone who has some related experience?

Did you really expect to get any useful
advice from people (who aren't getting paid
to do your job for you and, perhaps more
important) who can't see any of the existing
code?
RBrown_1
Trusted Contributor

If it is VAX Basic, then it is pretty old. Start here: http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/basic.html

Personally, I have not used Basic since the '60s, and I don't recall there being dates in it. I do recall Beginner's All-purpose Symbolic Instruction Code.

Perhaps your program gets the date from Basic. Perhaps it gets it from VMS. Perhaps there is some other way. We have no way of knowing how your program does it. You are going to have to read the code.

Have fun.
abrsvc
Respected Contributor

The basic question (pun intended) here is what assistance you really need. Are you asking how to code the problem in Basic or are you asking how to create the end date itself?

If the former, then post a snippet of the code that creates the end date now, and we can probably modify it.