1753394 Members
7131 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Infinite loop problem

Kai.Zou
Advisor

Infinite loop problem

Hi, I am newbie here. And I met an Infinite loop problem.

The process paging file quota became critical after activated for 52 days and gave the following messages:
[Error creating space for command interpreter symbol table
Process quota exceeded]
And One more day later, the process was trapped into infinite loop.

I wondered that the reason might be the abuse of lib$find_file ( lack of lib$find_file_end ).
Here is my questions:
1. I knew that lack of lib$find_file_end would cause a memory leak, but would it cause lib$find_file trapped into dead loop?
2. When infinite dead loop occured, could I use SDA show stack command to determine the dead loop position ( function )? How is the detail way?

thanks very much.
7 REPLIES 7
John Gillings
Honored Contributor

Kai,

>reason might be the abuse of lib$find_file
>( lack of lib$find_file_end ).

That's certainly possible (and a rather advanced diagnosis for a "newbie"! :-). If you don't call lib$find_file_end, you can leak heap space and eventually run out of virtual memory (pagefile quota, frep0va, etc... what you hit depends on quotas).

>[Error creating space for command
>interpreter symbol table Process quota
>exceeded]

This sounds more like a DCL error? Are you running a program, or executing a procedure? Or, maybe SPAWNing a subprocess from a program?

>could I use SDA show stack command to
>determine the dead loop position

Yes, basic principle is to sample the PC and correlate it against your image map. See SDA> SHOW IMAGE to get the addresses of various images. Then use your link map to work out which routine it's in from the image offset. Then use your compilation listing to work out the line from the routine offset.