1751939 Members
4827 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Is there an (UN)ZIP api?

Art Wiens
Respected Contributor

Is there an (UN)ZIP api?

I am not a programmer. Ok, now that we have that out of the way, I would like to recommend to our programmers to adopt the use of ZIP and UNZIP in their application development rather than inevitably ending up with production directories that are chock full of small files. To that end is there an "api" that they can use in their Basic programs to utilize ZIP and UNZIP? Or is it all up to DCL procedures? I have done a bit of reading but nothing jumped out at me.

Cheers,
Art
16 REPLIES 16
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

Re: Is there an (UN)ZIP api?

So far as I know, there's Windows DLL stuff,
but nothing other than (optimistic?) comments
about other environments. (See "api.c" in
both kits.)

Your problem description is a little too
fuzzy for me to say whether it would make
sense to explore this possibility further.
Art Wiens
Respected Contributor

For example there is a "billing" program which ends up generating ~2,000 invoices per month per division (seperate .txt files with PCL codes that get printed once and then sit on disk "for ever" ... they might want to see a couple in subsequent years if a deadbeat customer hasn't paid).

I occasionally run ZIP procedures and organize them into semi-annual files e.g. 2009_1.zip (Jan to Jun) and 2009_2.zip (Jul to Dec). If the Basic program(s) could add them into a ZIP file "automatically" as they are produced and perhaps the print routine could extract them from the archive, print them and then delete them. There are lots of other examples where lots of individual files get created per division, used maybe once and then occupy disk space thereafter.

Obviously it can get done with DCL, but if I could shift the work to them ... ;-)

Art
Hoff
Honored Contributor