1753647 Members
5975 Online
108798 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: LAT port error %REM-E-PORTRXERR

Julian Mathews
Occasional Contributor

LAT port error %REM-E-PORTRXERR

I'm a LAT newbie and have a problem getting data from a DecServer90M terminal server port using LAT. Seem to be connecting okay via the lat port but get the following errors every time I'm expecting data.

%REM-E-PORTRXERR, port receive error
-SYSTEM-F-PARITY, parity error

I guess the parity error is a give away. The current setup on the decserver is:

Port 2: (Remote)

Character Size: 7
Input Speed: 4800
Flow Control: XON
Output Speed: 4800
Parity: Even
Signal Control: Disabled
Stop Bits: Dynamic

Access: Remote
Local Switch: None
Backwards Switch: None Name: PORT_2
Break: Local Session Limit: 4
Forwards Switch: None Type: Ansi
Default Protocol: LAT

Preferred Service: None

Authorized Groups: 0
(Current) Groups: 0

Enabled Characteristics:
Autoprompt, Failover, Input Flow Control, Lock, Loss Notification,
Message Codes, Output Flow Control, Verification

Is this a problem with the LAT port or the term server? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Julian
6 REPLIES 6
Jan van den Ende
Honored Contributor

Hi Julian,

What is this particlar port used for?
Is it to connect a terminal (or -emulator) to VMS to enable login?
Then, CHANGE access to LOCAL.

The setting REMOTE _is_ OK if your host is accessing the device via this port ( eg., a printer, or any other periferal)
In that case, you should check that the device port speed under VMS that accesses this port, AND the speed of the connected device, AND the terminal server port setting, all agree.

If this does not help, supply us with more info on the way this port IS used.

hth

Jan
Don't rust yours pelled jacker to fine doll missed aches.
Antoniov.
Honored Contributor

Hi Julian,