1753767 Members
5595 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Mail, TCP/IP, DNS, BIND

Leon Ross
Occasional Contributor

Mail, TCP/IP, DNS, BIND

So yes I am a newbie to all of this especially on openVMS 8.2.

I am trying to get a mail server up and running that can provide mail to/from openVMS, redhat and windows.

First i thought that I should just use the mail server on the Alpha OpenVMS box. I enabled POP and SMTP however I can't get Outlook (on windows) to use these servers. It rejects the username and password.

Secondly I thought I would just set up a mail server on the linux machine. Sendmail must have a DNS server running so I set up the same linux server as a DNS server as well. I got that working on the linux and windows machine. However I am having a ton of trouble getting the Alpha set up to use this DNS server.

My questions are
1. Which way would you guys and gals suggest I should go as far as a mail server? Should I leave it on the Alpha or set one up on the linux box?
2. How do I set up the Alpha to use the DNS server on the linux box? Do I still need a host file/database if I am successful.

I am very new to all of this so please bear with me.

Any help is definitely appreciated.
Leon
3 REPLIES 3
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

Define "mail server". SMTP? POP? Both?
What?

> [...] It rejects the username and password.

Who's "It"? While doing what? How does the
VMS system know what the right user names and
passwords are? (Do they work in a non-POP
context?)

> [...] I am having a ton of trouble [...]

Not a useful description of what you did or
what happened when you did it.

> 1. [...]

It depends.

> 2. [...]

sys$manager:tcpip$config.com
Core environment
BIND Resolver
Enter your BIND server name:
[...]

It's common to have a few critical items in a
local HOSTS data base, so that some work is
possible when the DNS server is unavailable.
Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor

Leon,

> It rejects the username and password.