108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Maximum shadow copies

SOLVED
Go to solution
Mike Smith_33
Super Advisor

Maximum shadow copies

I have a new cluster I have been setting up and I have noticed something strange. I set shadow_max_copy to 4. I have noticed that the system upon startup begins shadowing all 7 drives at once. What am I missing here?

Cluster is 3 node, DS15s clustered over the network. 2 nodes have msa30 shelves and we then host based shadow all the drives between them. They each have a private network between them weighted (GB) for disk and cluster traffic. The third node is a voting node and talks to the other two over the public network.
6 REPLIES 6
Dave Unverhau_1
Honored Contributor

Mike,

I'm a VMS newbie, so please excuse me if I'm missing the point...

According to the "Volume Shadowing for OpenVMS" manual, the shadow_max_copy system parameter "limits the number of concurrent merge or copy operations on a given node".

This may mean that it limits how many shadow *sets* are able to be merged or copied simultaneously. Do each of your seven disks on this node constitute a separate shadow set? If I understand the purpose of the parameter correctly, it will only allow copies of up to four shadow sets to occur simultaneously. Depending on how your disks are set up in shadow sets, might this involve read and write operations to all seven of the disks?

I hope this is of some help...let me know if I'm off base...I'm learning, too (I hope!).

Best Regards,

Dave
Romans 8:28
Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor

Mike,

I must concur with Dave. shadow_max_copy is PER NODE, not PER CLUSTER.

Are you sure that the shadow copies are all being performed by the same node, or is the status display showing the overall state of the volumes. Perhaps you can post the a copy of the display that you are looking at (suitably sanitized, or course) so that we can all look at the same thing.

- Bob Gezelter, http://www.rlgsc.com
John Gillings
Honored Contributor