3243 Online
108760 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Modifying DCL script

Anup Varghese
Occasional Advisor

Modifying DCL script

Hi,

I am very new to writing DCL scripts, I have a script which i am using for monitoring the server for its availablity, but i need to modify this.

The
When the server is not reachable it writes a log to the error log and the script reads the error log and sends out a error message to the reciptents mail box.
But even if the error is rectified the scripts keeps on sending the error message as the script reads only the date and not the time.
The script runs every 15 min once and i would like to modify the time selection that is it should check for the last 15 min alone to see if any error messages and not for the whole date.

The script used to select the date is :
date1 = f$extract(0,11,f$time())

and the search script is :
sear ssfmoni:erf.log JHF,Failed,'date1/match=and/nooutput/nowarn

Kindly guide me here to modify the script.
20 REPLIES 20
Craig A
Valued Contributor

$ write sys$output f$extract(0,11,f$time())
15-JUN-2011
$ write sys$output f$extract(0,16,f$time())
15-JUN-2011 11:0

Run some tests changing the the 11 to a 16 and run the job every 10 minutes.

Check what happens when the day value is <10, though.

Ian Miller.
Honored Contributor

You may also find F$CVTIME as it can return the date&time in various formats and extract parts of the date&time.

Also aware that when you include the time in the string, there is a between DATE and TIME. This will certainly break the symbol substitution in the SEARCH command.

Replace 'date1 with "''date1'"

Dave.
Anup Varghese
Occasional Advisor

Hi,

If we are increasing the charater limit that is insted of
date1 = f$extract(0,11,f$time()) if we give date1 = f$extract(0,16,f$time()) and run the script for every 10 min then consider the situation like the error occured at 11:59 and the job ran at 12:00 the this error will not be identified.
Joseph Huber_1
Honored Contributor