1751954 Members
4849 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Monitoring network, bandwidth

MohitAnchlia
Frequent Advisor

Monitoring network, bandwidth

I haven't monitored the network before. There are few things that I really want to monitor just to see how the traffic is, where is the bottleneck etc. Basically I want to check:
1. Different types of NIC cards or bridges etc. we have that are transmitting data. For Eg: gigabit ethernet, 10g ethernet etc.
2. Which Ethernet is most used on that box. Their transmission rates, % of utilization etc.
3. Which process is hogging network.

What I just described above may sound weird, I am new to most of the networking terminologies, but I am trying to read about variouse transmission technologies.
11 REPLIES 11
Hoff
Honored Contributor

Did you intend to post this question in the OpenView network tools forum and not in the OpenVMS operating system forum? If you had intended to post here and are seeking tools for use on and with OpenVMS, which architecture and version?

With OpenVMS, you can generally poll the NIC counters, and determine an aggregate of the network activity.

SDA (ANALYZE /SYSTEM) commands here include SHOW LAN and the LAN extension; LAN COUNTERS, etc.

Most folks tend to use an open-source or add-on tool (or network server appliance) for examining network traffic, or something such as OpenView.
Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor

Mohit,

If I am simply trying to gather statistics, the network tools on OpenVMS can supply raw statistics. You can use the various SHOW commands in LANCP to display the list of interfaces and their associated counters.

For looking at overall traffic from different sources, I generally use WireShark (http://www.wireshark.org) on a mobile computer to monitor the network. A cautionary note: analyzing backbone usage correctly requires a fair degree of knowledge, it is regrettably easy to come to incorrect conclusions based on various errors.