1753882 Members
7276 Online
108809 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: NFS Backup Help

James Topel

NFS Backup Help

I am very new to VMS and need to backup a single alpha server to an NFS share on server 2003R2, the reason i need to do this is the tape drive that we were backing up data to decided to eat its self and we cant get the authorization to purchase a new drive.

I have the NFS share up and working using Windows Services for UNIX, another device is able to write data to an NFS share on this server
on the alpha server i have turned on NFS client but now i am stuck as to where to go from here.
3 REPLIES 3
marsh_1
Honored Contributor

hi,

welcome to the itrc openvms forum. probably best place to start would be the tcpip management guide section on nfs see here for the tcpip v5.6 copy :-

http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/83final/6526/ba548_90006.pdf

a question i would ask is what are you going to do with the data once it is there, if you are going to use something outside of the native vms backup software you may end up with issues after/if you restore it.

HTH

marsh_1
Honored Contributor

hi,

there is also the samba implementation for openvms you could consider if you are more familiar with that :-

http://h71000.www7.hp.com/network/cifs_download.html

Hoff
Honored Contributor

If you're new to OpenVMS and haven't already done so, start by reading the User's Guide and then the System Manager's manual in the documentation set. Manuals are here:

http://www.hp.com/go/openvms/doc

From those documents, you'll have a better idea of what you're doing when working with OpenVMS.

To answer your immediate question, if the NFS client has mounted a volume exported by the server, copy the bits you want to preserve into the disk. That could be a backup saveset, or a file copy, or a zip archive (zip "-V"), or whatever. What files you copy into the NFS served storage depends on what files you want to preserve.