4323 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Newbie Cluster Configuration

SOLVED
Go to solution
Francisco Moore

Newbie Cluster Configuration

First I am a biologist so please keep that in mind! I am a long time but "periodic" VMS user. In addition I have managed my own stand alone VMS workstations on and off for a number of years. So I am sure that my questions may not be as clear as you might like but here goes . . .

I currently have a couple students that want to run a large number of simulations. Distributing jobs across a cluster is the way to go from a user standpoint. So we have acquired 9 es45s and we are trying to get a lightly coupled cluster together. About all we need is to be able to share a batch queue across the cluster. A LAN connection exists but I was not planning on any other connection between nodes.
My Question is essentially "what is the absolute easiest way to form a cluster that can share a queue for distribution of jobs across nodes?"

I think I may have created a cluster like this 10 or so years ago with Cluster_config, but have failed to get a workable cluster with Cluster_config_LAN this time. I only have 3 users and I am unlikely to have many changes in users. Can I, for instance, just form a cluster without automated sharing of any system files and instead manually distribute the authorization files across the nodes?

I have tried to form a cluster of two of our machines using cluster_config_LAN two ways. First I tried using multiple independent boot server heads, and this was fine in terms up cluster communications but unstable based on boot order and I could not get the license database to pass correctly.