108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: No Such User on Integrity

SOLVED
Go to solution
Russ Carraro
Regular Advisor

No Such User on Integrity

Customer got their first Integrity server (it's a loaner for proof of concept). It's running OpenVMS V8.3, all their other systems are V6.2 and V7.1. I telnet to the server and log onto the system account with no problem. I then run authorize and create some user accounts. When trying to log on with the new user accounts they get "User authorization failure" and the opcom message is "no such user". I've tried alphabetic, numeric and alphanumeric passwords with no success. User flag is noPwdMix. I have no experience with OpenVMS V8.3. Can the problem be case sensitive usernames? Can someone tell me what the problem might be and how to fix it? Thank you.
6 REPLIES 6
Shankar Bose
Advisor

Russ,

You need Open VMS-USER license for your new system.

Regards
Shankar
Russ Carraro
Regular Advisor

Thanks, I'll contact the user and let him know.
Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor
Solution

Russ,

It is also possible that the accounts were added to a different copy of SYSUAF than the copy being used by the system.

Check to make sure that the accounts are actually in the active copy of the SYSUAF. This behavior has been consistent in OpenVMS for many years (see references for UAFALT, etc.)

- Bob Gezelter, http://www.rlgsc.com
Heinz W Genhart
Honored Contributor

Hi Russ

Either your SYSUAF.DAT is located in SYS$COMMON:[SYSEXE] or you must have defined the logical SYSUAF pointing to that file.

def /sys/exec sysuaf disk:[directory]sysuaf.dat

Its also possiple that you logged in to your default directory and used MC AUTHORIZE to creat the account. If then the logical sysuaf is undefined, the authorize utility will create a new sysuaf.dat in your current default directory (It asks you then if you want to create a new sysuaf.dat)