5911 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Not seeing tape drive

Blake Dechant
Occasional Advisor

Not seeing tape drive

Hello,

I'm a fairly new system manager here so, bear with me if any of this seems obvious. There was a TZ87 tape drive connected to one of our VAXs. The tape drive (as well as some other equipment) seem to have gotten fried in a power surge (they can't even be powered on anymore). I found an extra TZ85 tape drive to replace the TZ87, set the SCSI switches to "4" (which is what the TZ87 had used), connected it and turned it on. When I do a
> show dev MKA500:
I get "No such device available" back. MKA500: was the old tape drive's name. I'm not really sure how to proceed. I guess maybe the card that the drive hooks into could be bad too. Or am I missing something obvious here? Also, is the TZ85 going to work as a replacement for the TZ87? (We use DLT III tapes.)

Thanks for any help,
-Blake
8 REPLIES 8
abrsvc
Respected Contributor

It is possible that the interface is bad, but...

Try issueing the following command from a privileged account:

$ mc sysman io auto

The above will effectively do a hardware discovery and "connect" the drive should it be seen. If the TZ87 was off during the boot process, it could have been skipped as not being responsive to the query.

Post your results here.

Dan
Hoff
Honored Contributor

Unit 4 is MKA400: device.

Not the MKA500: device. That's unit 5.

Caution:

DKA400: is a fairly common setting for a CD; that's unit 4.

Remove the tape, and terminate the bus.

See if there is a unit at MKA400: or DKA400:, or at MKA500: or DKA500: from the console or from running VMS.

Figure out what's on your SCSI bus.

Unit collisions are bad, and can raise all manor of havoc.

The host itself usually uses unit 6 or unit 7 for the host's SCSI controller. How that's determined depends on the SCSI controller and which particular VAX is involved.