108781 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: OpenVMS Telnet Problem with Windows XP

SOLVED
Go to solution
Damon McNutt

OpenVMS Telnet Problem with Windows XP

Hello,
I have an Alpha 1000A server with OpenVMS 7.2-1. This system is setup by a contractor with TCP/IP, and for many years I have been able to telnet into the system from Windows XP. Recently, I discovery that I can telnet into the system, and login to the system, but I cannot get a full directory listing with the "dir" command. I do not get any errors, but the telnet session locks either just after the return key or after a few lines of text of the directory list.

This does not happen to all Window XP system. Some work fine, some do not. Network config is the same.

I had the contractor here declaring that the problem lies with our Windows XP systems. I am not a VMS expert, and I have no problems telneting into Unix/Linux systems with these systems, so I am at a loss as to the problem. Does anyone have a direction as to where I should look first?

Thanks
6 REPLIES 6
John Gillings
Honored Contributor
Solution

Damon,

What telnet client are you using from XP? The Windows "native" telnet client is a very poor ANSI terminal emulator, making it difficult to talk to OpenVMS properly (where is the "DO" key?) You may do better with a more complete terminal emulator package. There are many available from freeware to commercial products.

If you can reproduce the problem, try running a TCPTRACE. It sounds to me like OpenVMS is sending larger volumes of data in large packets and the PC is having trouble dealing with them. You may be able to hack around this by setting lower MTUs, but it would be better to fix the PC so it can correctly run IP protocol.

If you're having trouble interpreting the trace, log a case with your local customer support centre.
A crucible of informative mistakes
Art Wiens
Respected Contributor

Some basic things to think about ...