5315 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

OpenVMS terminal server setup

SOLVED
Go to solution
Max Jarvis

OpenVMS terminal server setup

I'm new to VMS. I need to add 128 serial ports to Integrity rx2660 running OpenVMS using four 32-port Lantronix terminal servers, network protocol TCP/IP (not LAT). Software in the rx2660 needs to write and read these ports, using VMS device names in the form XXyn:, e.g. TTA0: or whatever. I can control the IP addresses of the terminal servers, but how do I assign 32 XXyn:-type device names to the 32 ports on each server?
4 REPLIES 4
Hoff
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: OpenVMS terminal server setup

Deja vu. I received this as an AskHL question over at the HoffmanLabs site, and posted up an answer over there.

http://64.223.189.234/node/1185

Jon Pinkley
Honored Contributor

Max,

If you have Lantronix ETS32 terminal devices, they use tcp port 3000 + terminal port number when setup for connections established from the ethernet side.

I.e. if you want to connect to a device attached to port 22 of the ETS32, you would connect to tcp port 3022 for the ip address associated with the ETS32.

You probably also want to use the ETS console commands to configure the ETS ports as broadcast disable, otherwise the terminal server may send info to whatever is connected to the async port. Also, be aware that one of the ports will be the console port (this defaults to 1, can be changed with >> define server console port ## command) and when the ETS boots or there is a problem, messages will be sent out the console port. That can be bad if you have a machine console connected. There may be a way to disable the console port, but if so, the online help wasn't clear.

Jon
it depends
Max Jarvis

Jon, thanks for the reply. Actually they are EDS32-PR terminal servers, not ETS32.