108787 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Oracle Basics for OPEN VMS

Stephanie Gonos
Occasional Contributor

Oracle Basics for OPEN VMS

I am really new to VMS all my background is
Solaris.

I am trying real hard to set up Oracle on our Alpha V8.3 system.

I've looked over HP and oracle documentation
and still can't get a complete picture of how
VMS is set up for an install.

Can anyone provide some additional information? I have an ORADBA account setup.
the directories are there. how do I set up
the environment variables as in Unix ?

My utlimate goal is to have a user on VMS be able to connect to another server (windows)
in oracle.

Does VMS have a host file ? when I try to
do SQLPLUS sys/doggie99@walkway...
TNS 12145 TNS could resolve the connect identifer specified.

walkway is in the tnsnames file and it's the other server I want to connect to.

URLs and reference documents are appreciated.

I get a tnsnames errror about identify the
resource. Does VMS have a grep or find command to see if I have two tnsnames.ora files ?

Thanks.
7 REPLIES 7
John Gillings
Honored Contributor

Stephanie,

OpenVMS isn't Unix. Sorry. You've got a learning curve ahead. The best advice is to try to avoid attempting to force fit your Unix knowledge in OpenVMS. That's a recipe for frustration. (I'm in the process of going the other way...)

Hopefully someone with Oracle skills can comment on environment stuff, but VMS doesn't have an exact equivalent to Unix environment variables.

VMS does have a host file, but typically you don't edit it directly. If you're running TCPIP services use:

$ TCPIP SHOW HOST walkway...

to see if it's defined somewhere (local host file or DNS). To define a local host

$ TCPIP SET HOST walkway/ADDRESS=10.1.2.3

If you're running a different TCPIP stack, the commands will be different.

You can get versions of grep which run under OpenVMS, look on the freeware cd or website. The native OpenVMS command is SEARCH

$ SEARCH file "string","string"