Operating System - OpenVMS
1751854 Members
5819 Online
108782 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Printer Queue Page Counting

nitram_1

Printer Queue Page Counting

I'm new to VMS Admin and need to get an accurate count of pages printed through a specific print queue. Tried using accounting but single page jobs are not being counted as a page - would anyone have a script or any advice on how best to get the correct count.
Working in OpenVMS V7.3
Thanks in advance for any assistance.
12 REPLIES 12
Craig A
Valued Contributor

Nitram

Can you specify the ACCOUNT command that you are using, and the result of:

$SHOW ACCOUNT

Craig
nitram_1

Command is:
acc /que=pq_et_cast_4h1/summary=user/report=(pages,records)

Show account
Accounting is currently enabled to log the following activities:

PROCESS any process termination
INTERACTIVE interactive job termination
LOGIN_FAILURE login failures
SUBPROCESS subprocess termination
DETACHED detached job termination
BATCH batch job termination
NETWORK network job termination
PRINT all print jobs
MESSAGE user messages
Craig A
Valued Contributor

Are you running a cluster?

Are you pointing to the correct ACCOUNTING file?

If the print execution queue is on NODEA but you are on NODEB then you need to ensure that you access NODEA's ACCOUNTING file (unless you are sharing).

What is the output from $ SHOW LOG ACCOUNTNG

This command works for me:

$ acc/type=print/since/report=(pages)/summ=(user,queue)
nitram_1

Not running a cluster in this case, yes I believe I have the correct accounting file, the queue and accounting file are on the same server.
Show log accounting returns: no translation for logical name accounting

Your command works but returns same erroneous information for queue I'm looking at - it just includes every other print queue also.

The command I use:
acc /que=myprintque/summary=user/report=(pages,records)
returns:
Username Pages Total
Printed Records
-------------------------------
USER7_DEV 8 7
USER5_DEV 0 6