2575 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Printing on OpenVMS

jinhock
Visitor

Printing on OpenVMS

Hi All,

I'm new and I have no experience in OpenVMS. I would like to know how can I configure our current Kyocera printer to Brother printer?

Current scenario:-

1.Printing using Brother Printer - the print out suppose to be the as the jpeg file but it came out as the pdf file (file is just example)

2.The system is using the below command to print

$   PRINT/NOFLAG/NOFEED/FORM=Printer/QUE=PRINT$KLPR01 COMETS$SYSTEM:V01KLP_PAK.MCRO,sys$login:klpr_27E05A84.tmp   

Appreciate the help.

Thank you.

Goh

4 REPLIES 4
Hoff
Honored Contributor

Third-party printers are a long-standing pain with OpenVMS and tend to have nowhere near the level of testing and integration that folks using printers with Microsoft Windows might expect, and the effort here can range from minor queue or printer settings changes to dealing with much more intractable limitations of OpenVMS or of the queues or of the applications.

Details here do vary by printer model, printer settings and even sometimes the particular printer firmware.

If you want to pursue this here in the forums, you're going to need to identify specifically what printers are involved, and whether that printer has support for PDF-format printing тАФ by default, OpenVMS does not, so there was something else generating the PDF, and something else either in the printer or in some outboard software that was processing and rendering the PDF.  Also whether other formats such as plain ASCII text files print correctly, as might be expected.