108795 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Remove VAXes from Cluster and FDDI

SOLVED
Go to solution
Art Wiens
Respected Contributor

Remove VAXes from Cluster and FDDI

Right off the bat I'll say I have 0 experience with FDDI and I have little knowledge of the physical environment in question.

My customer wants to remove the two VAXes from their 4 node cluster leaving two Alpha's. Votes, expected votes and a quorum disk will be adjusted/configured. The "quirk" (to me) is all 4 systems have an FDDI connection through some sort of FDDI hub/switch I suppose. Is there anything to be done on said hub/switch when the VAX FDDI cables are removed? Any kind of terminator or such on open interfaces required? Maybe just rubber plugs so some unsuspecting operator isn't "blinded by the light"?

The other curious display I see is in SHOW CLUSTER (see attached). It says the Alpha's have a PMA0 circuit. Memory Channel? Or did FDDI just use the same driver? VMS v7.1-1H1 ;-(

Cheers,
Art
12 REPLIES 12
Hoff
Honored Contributor

You might be interested in "OpenVMS Tips: Adding or Removing Nodes from a Cluster", over at http://64.223.189.234/node/169

Yes, it appears your Alpha systems do have MC. You'll probably see it enabled via the MC_SERVICES_P2 parameter.

If the Alpha systems can be retrofit with GbE, I'd be tempted to remove FDDI entirely. And given they likely have 100Mb and they do apparently have MC, I'd probably remove FDDI.

FDDI is usually wired as a pair of rings, and daisy-chained around all the controllers. As for the FDDI cabling, you'll be capping off the disconnected FDDI controllers (with boots), and re-organizing the FDDI rings to include just those systems you want to remain in the ring. If you are using FDDI at all. Or you can conceivably split the rings into two.

Also remember the SET NOINTERFACE and SET CONFIG NOINTERFACE and the equivalent NCP or NCL commands for whichever DECnet is in use, if any.

Stephen Hoffman
HoffmanLabs
Art Wiens
Respected Contributor