108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Security Issues and Bad Forum Admins

SOLVED
Go to solution
Austin Walton
Advisor

Security Issues and Bad Forum Admins

This is a little off topic, but I wanted to post it in the OpenVMS forums because I like the people around here, and wanted you to hear it.

I was posting on a forum and trying to get some help with MS SharePoint development that IтАЩve been doing. Anyhow, I noticed some security flaws in the forum site, mainly the following.

1) Passwords were not encrypted using hashing or one-way encryption. This means anyone with access to the password database (including forum admins) can see user passwords in plain text. One-way encryption is a pretty basic thing, I learned about it when I was a freshman in college. You can allow admins to reset passwords and send users the new ones, but you shouldnтАЩt be sending users their passwords in plain text in an email. These guys were doing exactly that, and thatтАЩs how I knew they didnтАЩt use one-way encryption.

2) In the user profile, changing the password does not require that you supply the old password. Changing the user e-mail address does not require password verification.

As a result, my posts were removed within 10 minutes and my account was disabled within 15 minutes. Extremely unprofessional. Censoring forum posts wonтАЩt make their security problems go away, and security by obscurity always fails eventually.

In case you donтАЩt think the above problems are a big deal, let me lay out a little scenario for you: