Operating System - OpenVMS
1753439 Members
4890 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Seeking help in Crash Dump analysis.

SOLVED
Go to solution
Anjan Ganguly
Frequent Advisor

Seeking help in Crash Dump analysis.

I have Alpha DS 10 machine where Open VMS 7.2-1 Version is installed.My system go crash today morning at around 10:45AM.I have got the dump file with me but not able to understand the reason from the file.I am attaching the dump file.Can some body help me in analysing the cause of the crash from the file.
11 REPLIES 11
Kris Clippeleyr
Honored Contributor

Although I'm not an expert in crash dump analysis (contact Volker for that), I guess your Alpha crashed due to a hardware problem. It might be CPU or memory related.
Greetz,
Kris (aka Qkcl)
I'm gonna hit the highway like a battering ram on a silver-black phantom bike...
Ian Miller.
Honored Contributor

have a look in your hardware error log too.

Can u tell cow to see the hardware error log and where it indicates in the crash dump that it is an hardware fault.I am asking because I am not able to decode the registry (program counter) chech and all in the clue file.Can u highligh me in this regard?
Kris Clippeleyr
Honored Contributor
Solution

Hi,

You might want to use WEBES to analyze the file SYS$ERRORLOG:ERRLOG.SYS.
And...
> and where it indicates in the crash dump that it is an hardware fault.
I've seen too many "MACHINECHK, Machine check while in kernel mode" crashes that where all related to hardware failures.
Greetz,
Kris (aka Qkcl)
I'm gonna hit the highway like a battering ram on a silver-black phantom bike...
Richard Brodie_1
Honored Contributor

Try analyze/err/elv translate/since
Anjan Ganguly
Frequent Advisor

Richard,
While trying with analyze/err, it says that N"New header format found.Install Decevent and run conversion utility."

My Open VMS version is 7.2-1.
I am not able to run your given command.
Ian Miller.
Honored Contributor