108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Sending email from OpenVMS

SOLVED
Go to solution
John T. Farmer
Regular Advisor

SHOW MAIL in TCPIP indicates the TCPIP$SMTP_MAILSHR.EXE image is not installed. Is that something where HP Support (via our support contract) would help, or are we on our own to get it "installed"?

I am a developer, and haven't done any VMS software installations. I'm sure I can get more than enough instruction from this forum, just don't want to be a pest, as I would require MUCH guidance. So, we need to start with getting the SMTP stuff installed, then the config questions will start.

Is there a good HP reference/doc on the SMTP subject, that you can point me to?

Also, being behind on vms versions doesn't help matters. We have planned to get more current in first qtr 2007.

Thanks,

John
Robert Atkinson
Respected Contributor

John, it's probably simply because you haven't started the SMTP service.

Run SYS$MANAGER:TCPIP$CONFIG, and select option 2 - Client Components, then option 6 - SMTP.

Choose to enable and start the service.

Rob.
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

> SHOW MAIL in TCPIP indicates the
> TCPIP$SMTP_MAILSHR.EXE image is not
> installed. Is that something where HP
> Support (via our support contract) would
> help, or are we on our own to get it
> "installed"?

Well, yes, but ...

> $ @sys$manager:TCPIP$CONFIG

Still worth a try.

> Is there a good HP reference/doc on the
> SMTP subject, that you can point me to?

Start with TCPIP SHOW VERSION, then deviate
accordingly:

http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/index.html
http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/tcpip56.html
http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/tcpip53.html (?)
http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/73final/6526/6526pro.HTML

Or wander around a little in that
neighborhood.
Martin Vorlaender
Honored Contributor

John,

>>>