New Discussion юеВ

Re: Setting up new terminal for clustering

SOLVED
Go to solution
nipun_2
Regular Advisor

Setting up new terminal for clustering

Hi,
I am still new to OpenVMS(3 weeks). I have broken down the message into Objective, Current Status and Conclusion. Please try to comment, suggest and point to sources of documentation in detail (as I am newbie). In earlier replies, I was given the suggestion to look at google groups but could not find anything helpful.

Books and documentation referred: HP OpenVMS, system management guide,Getting Sratred with OpenVMS

Objective:
We have 2 workstation XP 1000 and DS 25 (Alpha Stations) which are as a simple cluster on Ethernet. (Current setup in the doc file).
We have recently got a new DS 25 (still packed). Which needs to be added in this cluster.

Current Status
1)Regarding New DS@%
New DS 25 (Alphastation DS25 EV68)(still packed waiting for replies from all of you :) )
So I don't know whether OpenVMS has to be installed on DS25. From what I read the first time you install OpenVMS you have to mention whether the system has to be clustered

2) Regarding the Current Setup
- I believe I need to run @CLUSETER_CONFIG.COM
Once new system is up and running. Current Setup diagram in the doc is what it is right now. So I have got Gigabit Switch (series 2608 from Dell). I intend to get Cat 6 Ethernet cables for 1000T Mbs network between DS 25s and Cat 5 cables for Fast Ethernet setup between XP1000 and DS25s. Please have a look at the "future setup" in the doc file.

Conclusion
I believe the first phase is Setting up new terminal, installing OpenVMS.licensing and configuring for Simple Clustering.
Second Phase is starting @Cluster_config file and including the (new)DS25 as a node.
I beileve I can set up DS25s at 1000Mbs using RJ 45 Cat 6 and XP1000 at 10/100Mbs (same as current).

Please let me know what other information you require and if possible the commands to get that (or documentation that shows how?)