1752815 Members
6067 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Transfer trust from VMS to Linux

almanzam
Occasional Advisor

Transfer trust from VMS to Linux

Greetings. My very first question is derived from my return to VMS after an 8-year hiatus, when VMS belonged to Digital. Now I am a web administrator/developer/VMS beginner. After that long introduction, I now ask my question:

We have a VMS 7.3.2 system in which we have a huge Oracle database. Out of this database, we export many flat tab-separated files that the Oracle users retrieve via scripts on eMail. As you and I know, eMail is unsecure to send info such as SSN and ID and such things. What we would like to do is set up a trust between this VMS machine and a Linux machine so that users on Windows environments retrieve the files there and not the VMS machine. Basically, a VMS-to-Linux-to-Windows scripting will take care of that, and users can retrieve via a website or a Samba share from the Linux system. How could I do that with an SSH client on VMS?

I found slight help on this thread: http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/forums/questionanswer.do?threadId=997539 , is that the best way? We'd cut out the email part from the script that sends the file, and copy the file to the Linux machine.

The destination machine would more than likely have to have this "Trust" from the VMS machine.
14 REPLIES 14
Wim Van den Wyngaert
Honored Contributor

Re: Transfer trust from VMS to Linux

Which UCX/TCP version ?

Wim
Wim
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

Why is it more secure for the users to access
the data from the Linux system than from the
VMS system?

You should be able to run Samba and/or a Web
server on the VMS system. How does adding
the Linux system help?
Aaron Sakovich
Super Advisor

Greetings!

You didn't mention which version of TCP/IP you're running, so my response will be biased towards HP's TCP/IP Services for OpenVMS.