1752571 Members
4928 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: UNIX to OpenVMS guidelines

rbhagwat
Occasional Advisor

UNIX to OpenVMS guidelines

I am porting a big piece of software from UNIX to OpenVMS. I am totally lost in this and help would be much appreciated.
1. For a total novice to OpenVMS, but an ok
experience with UNIX, how much time would it
take to port a complex UNIX software
involving client-server, process
synchronization, file access etc.
2. Are we supposed to use GNV or not. It looks
half cooked.
3. I am going back and forth between OpenVMS
manual, GNV porting manuals etc. Is there
any correct sequence to tackle this ?

Thanks,
Rahul
9 REPLIES 9
Hein van den Heuvel
Honored Contributor

Welcome to the OpenVMS ITRC forum.

Congrats on the assignment and I hope you will have a successful port. Myself and many other participants here really love to see new application.

I'm worried though. While meaning no disrespect at all to you and your skills, WHY would anyone choose an OpenVMS novice for this task unless they kind of want it to fail?!

Surely solid knowledge of the target platform is much more important than any knowledge of the source. An intelligent engineer can typically figure out what something existing is doing and how on just any source platform.

But to select the best target implementation really requires a good bit of up front experience.

I have to question the management decision to select you for the job, again no disrespect intended.

Would you happen to be able to explain WHY this is ported to OpenVMS? That may also help guide you to the right 'how'.

>> how much time would it
take to port a complex UNIX software
involving client-server, process
synchronization, file access etc.

5 times longer than estimated.

>> 2. Are we supposed to use GNV

This is NOT an all or nothing decision.
You can opt to try port some (bash?) scripts to gnv, and recode other tasks as DCL procedures.