cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use two Interfaces Ethernet and FDDI Fiber on Same Machine

BonnieBM
Occasional Visitor

Use two Interfaces Ethernet and FDDI Fiber on Same Machine

Im totally new to OpenVMS but i have some Unix/Linux knowledge. I have 3 servers Running OpenVMS 7.2-3. They are connected using a DEC-Concentrator500 using Fiber.
They form a cluster.
Originally the Dec-Concentrator500 was connected to another Dec-Microserver which had an IP-Address thereby enabling the FDDI Connection ring to connect to the LAN but the link to the Dec-microserver went down. so no communication between the Network LAN and the 3 Server Cluster.

the Servers have IP-Addresses and from the console of one server i can telnet or set host to any of the other cluster member servers using IP-Addresses or Server-Names.

My Question is since they are currently connected using Fiber and the Cluster up, how can i add ANOTHER IP Address to the UNUSED EtherNet interfaces already on the servers on All or one of the servers since if i manage to have access to one i therefore manage to access all of them.

the "show network" command on the boot prompt ('before i type "boot" for the servers to boot') shows me that i have:

ewa (EtherNet)
fwa (FDDI)

and i know that only the 'fwa' is the one working because the Ethernet is not connected.

Is it possible to put an IP-Address on the 'ewa' and connect to a LAN Switch and have access to the Server?
If possible how do i do it? i have all the privileges on all the Machines.

Thanks in advance
4 REPLIES 4
Joseph Huber_1
Honored Contributor

Re: Use two Interfaces Ethernet and FDDI Fiber on Same Machine

Assuming the TCPIP stack is "TCPIP services for VMS" aka UCX, then use
@sys$manager:tcpip$config
to get the configuration menu.
choos 1"core", then 2"interfaces".
This should offer interface WE0 for the ethernet interface, and afterwards "routing" and "bind resolver".
http://www.mpp.mpg.de/~huber
Duncan Morris