Operating System - OpenVMS
1752800 Members
5618 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Username/Password - Commands are refused - Protection? ? ?

SOLVED
Go to solution
Miikka Kolari
Occasional Advisor

Username/Password - Commands are refused - Protection? ? ?

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this message, but I can't find any solution to this problem

I'm not a professional on VMS systems.

We've got this old machine OpenVMS Alpha 7-2.1 and we're supposed to get it open so we can check the ip address se we can connect our PC to it for retrieving the data(mostly user accounts and such)

The problem is that once we get to the Username/Password section, we can type the Username but the password box wont allow any typing what so ever. I've managed to get pass the password/username system by Halting se system and booting with -flags 0,1 to the Sysboot section

From SYSBOOT
SET/STARTUP:OPA0
SET WINDOW_SYSTEM 0
CONTINUE

Now we get to the $ which, as far as I understand is the console where I'm supposed to type all the commaands, so I'm in the System now?

From $ I can use SHOW USERS, SHOW MEMORY, SHOW DEVICES etc commands.. which show some information. From Devices I can see the system has DRA0 through 3 and 0 Is the Mounted one, which holds the system?

As far as other commands, I'm getting the next error messages:

When i'm trying run system manager commands? example RUN SYS$SYSTEM:SYSMAN or $MC SYSMAN, etc. Tried many different commands, all I'm getting is

-W-ACTIMAGE, error activating image SECURESHRP
CLI-E-IMGNAME, image file $40$DRA0: (SYS0.COMMON)(SYSLIB)SECURESHRP.EXE;1
SYSTEM-R-PROTINSTALL,protected images must be installed

I've never handled OpenVMS before, and only thing I've got is a manual but it dosent offer me the right solution for this problem even though I've read it through.

Thanks for the time!
Miikka

17 REPLIES 17
The Brit
Honored Contributor

Re: Username/Password - Commands are refused - Protection? ? ?

Welcome Miikka,