1752800 Members
5913 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: VMS Questions

Charlie Snowden

VMS Questions

I am new to OpenVMS. I am reading as much as I can so I can apply for various VMS positions. I need help answer a few VMS questions. I can't seem to find the correct answers. Please Help!

Thanks Charlie

1. HOW IS THE FILE SYSTEM STRUCTURED SO THAT MORE THAN ONE SYSTEM CAN BOOT FROM THE SAME DISK DEVICE?

2. HOW IS THE FILE SYSTEM INTEGRITY MAINTAINED?

3. HOW DO THE CLUSTER MEMBER NODES COMMUNICATE WITH EACH OTHER?

4. HOW CAN A SYSTEM FIND A FIBERCHANNEL BOOT DEVICE?

6 REPLIES 6
abrsvc
Respected Contributor

Unfortunately the questions you are asking do not have short nor simple responses. Any site that is asking this type of question will require people with vast experience and knowledge of OpenVMS. Since you can not respond to these, you are really not qualified to perform the tasks required of those jobs. Perhaps the purchase of a small and inexpensive system upon which you can experiment would be a better short term solution. In this fashion, you can learn the answers to the questions listed directly.

You can also refer to the documentation set at the following link:

http://h71000.www7.hp.com

Dan
Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor

Charlie,

First, let me welcome you to the ITRC OpenVMS Forum.

With regards to your question, I must concur with Dan, you want far better than book knowledge to go into an interview with these straightforward answers.

I speak from experience, having assisted quite a few clients over the years with interviewing. Candidates that were "casually" prepared for questions did themselves a disservice. When the surface question was answered, and the followup question was badly handled, it was fairly obvious that there was not a thorough understanding of the concepts.