Operating System - OpenVMS
1748089 Members
4904 Online
108758 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Vax Console Input not Enabled

Glenn_D

Vax Console Input not Enabled

I'm working with a Vax 4000-100 with a VT520 as the system console. It's pretty basic with only a three-bay StorageWorks attached, running OpenVMS V7.3. The machine startup is fine, you type in your boot command and sometime during the boot process, the console input is disabled. I can log on remotely and find no other problems; I can boot from the sysboot> prompt, using default settings and the console is fine. I have looked at startup and login files but I am not a VMS expert and see no obvious problem. The console still gets OPCOM messages, just no input. Maybe someone could point to some places to look further?
14 REPLIES 14
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

My old VAXes just work, so I know nothing,
but I'd start with:

SHOW TERMINAL OPA0

Look for "[No] Type_ahead". If it's "No",
then that might explain everything.

> [...] sometime during the boot process, the
> console input is disabled. [...]

Well, I'd say that it's disabled at the
beginning, and gets (re-)enabled late in the
start-up sequence (if ever).
Hoff
Honored Contributor

This is back in the era when OPCOM could occasionally (and erroneously) grab the console port.

To determine if this is the case and in addition to the SHOW TERMINAL, issue a SHOW DEVICE /FULL and see if there's an (non-zero) owning process PID listed for the console.

There were AFAIK patches, or (as most of us did) you simply disabled OPCOM output on the console.
Bob Blunt
Respected Contributor

Glenn, there's also another possible issue. Check to see if and/or when your startup procedure does a $ SET LOGIN/INTERACTIVE. Until that command is issued OPA0 will not allow login.