Operating System - OpenVMS
1753511 Members
5220 Online
108795 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Volume Shadowing in a non-clustered environment.

Larry Dillon
Advisor

Volume Shadowing in a non-clustered environment.

I'm new to Volume Shadowing so I apologize in advance if my questions are naive.

I'm wanting to shadow the data disks across two rx2620's in a non-clustered environment. I've been told by our sales guy that it can be done.

Each rx2620 has a system disk and a single data disk. Only one system is "live", the other being only a backup. The rx2620's are on the same Ethernet LAN but it would be possible to put them in a private copper gigabit Ethernet LAN. We're trying to keep costs down, so no fiber SAN.

I've successfully set up volume shadowing on one machine with two data disks as practice.

I've read all of the documentation I can find and can't figure out how to address the non-local data disk to create the shadow set.

Everything I read shows Volume Shadowing in a cluster with shared physical disks or else withing a single machine.

I understand that in a non-clustered environment (without the distributed lock manager) one cannot change data on the backup system.

Any advice (including if this is even the right approach) would be appreciated.
8 REPLIES 8
Andy Bustamante
Honored Contributor

If you're not on a SAN, I'm going to make the assumption that the data disks are SCSI drives.

The first step is to document the risk in having two systems access the same storage at the same time without coordination. Your business requirements will drive whether or not the potential for lost data and downtime is acceptable. Whoever makes the funding decisions needs to know the trade offs.

See section 3.6 of HP OpenVMS Cluster Systems
http://h71000.www7.hp.com/doc/84final/4477/4477pro_005.html

Shared SCSI storage in an OpenVMS Integrity server Cluster system is subject to the following restrictions: