5640 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: What is allowed ?

Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

Willem,

I have been managing VMS clusters since 1986 - I know what redundancy is!

Talking about powering a system down and burying it in concrete as a response to my comment - I don't feel like treated serious.
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

Well, Wim, doesn't that prove my point? Even interventions that seem without risk can go wrong for various reasons.

I have never worked in an environment that was that demanding like yours, but we didn't have any detailed rules of what was allowed and what not. It was decided on a case by case and the user base was much smaller. You have a highly complex system and I don't think you will ever be able to make a final list.
labadie_1
Honored Contributor

Wim

on a site, we did 2 controller battery change on a HSD. The first one went fine, but the Compaq guy who did the second was not as good, and needed more than 2 minutes (in fact about 20 minutes :-(

So a controller battery change must be seen as a dangerous operation.

I think the simplest attitude is to plan any change, when there is no activity and we have some free time to repair. Yes this often means coming on Saturday afternoon or evening, work a good part of the night, and have a complete sunday if something goes wrong.
Martin P.J. Zinser
Honored Contributor

Hello Wim,

we have a simple rule: You do not have any
planned maintenance on the HW during production hours.

OTOH we are not yet trading 24h a day, so we have a window to do what we need to do.

Greetings, Martin
Jan van den Ende
Honored Contributor

Uwe,

" Talking about powering a system down and burying it in concrete as a response to my comment - I don't feel like treated serious. "

- I did not in least try to not take you seriously, far from it.