108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: complete newbie question

Robert Gezelter
Honored Contributor

Dan,

I recommend caution here.

The last posting would seem to imply that this is not a true FTP connection. This would appear to be a special configuration using KERMIT running over a telnet connection.

Depending upon the versions involved, KERMIT may be able to be far more friendly, or alternatively, a true FTP connection may be feasible (since there is clearly a TCP/IP stack on the system).

My usual cautionary recommendations when making changes to production systems, particularly when there is limited expertise in-house, apply. It is far cheaper to do things correctly than it is to make innocent mistake and cause problems.

- Bob Gezelter, http://www.rlgsc.com
Steven Schweda
Honored Contributor

> Our current FTP parameters are:
> Connect using: Telenet
> Terminal Type: VT140, VT320, VT220
> Transfer Type: KERMIT

> The last posting would seem to imply that
> this is not a true FTP connection.

Your "FTP" appears to be a generic term for
some kind of file transfer scheme (program,
whatever), not "FTP" as normally construed
(File Transfer Protocol).

If the (intermediate) goal is to move some
files from a Windows system to a VMS system,
then several possibilities have been
suggested. Kermit would probably not be my
first choice, but at least it's using Telnet,
not an actual (slow) serial line.

I don't do much on Windows, but once, upon a
time long ago, I did use a GUI FTP client
program named SmartFTP, which seemed to be
able to handle a VMS TCPIP FTP server. (I
haven't tried it lately, so no bets).

You could try using the command-line FTP
client (in a DOS window, or whatever they
call it now), to see if you even have an FTP
server configured on the VMS system.

I gather that Microsoft Internet Explorer can
work as drag+drop FTP client, but a VMS TCPIP
FTP server tends to leave MSIE hopelessly
confused, so that's probably not a solution