Joseph Huber_1
Honored Contributor

Re: new ip assign

The LAN counters look o.k.
Since You say EWA0 is malfunctioning, I would remove it as an IP interface:
TCPIP SET NOINTERFACE WE0
TCPIP SET CONFIG NOINTERFACE WE0
then shutdown/restart TCPIP.
I'm not really experienced in VMS TCPIP, but I can imagine the system tries to use the first interface enabled in the same subnet, the bad one.
Also check the routing tables
TCPIP SHOW ROUTE

Did You try to reach other destinations than the gateway in the same subnet ?
TCPIP SHOW ARP
shows eventually which ones are seen.

http://www.mpp.mpg.de/~huber
Joseph Huber_1
Honored Contributor

Also to check:
is the interface raechable from a different system: ping the the new interface (using its IP address, not name).
If it responds, than it is a hint it is working, and should work also outgoing if used, i.e. after EWA0 is disabled.
Deepak Raheja
Frequent Advisor

I have multiple Alpha server DS10 running at various different location. All DS10 servers using 2 Ethernet ports mounted on motherboard only calling LAN-A & LAN-B.
Suppose one site say EF0DS1 running on two LANs (LAN-A & LAN-B) at a remote location. The IPs for LANs are as followings:
EF0DS1 LAN-A ├в 172.16.136.74/26
EF0DS1 LAN-B ├в 172.16.166.74/26

Now EF0DS1 LAN-A became faulty and needs to be replaced so as it is mounted on a motherboard,We added a new Dual SCSI combo Ethernet card in PCI slot.We had that card spare in our stock so we choosed to used it.

Now as I already told it is a remote site,so before sending the card to there,I wanted to check the connectivity of that combo card on my plateform.As like the remote location DS10,I have a DS10 named EA0DS1,again running with two LANs(LAN-A LAN-B)The IPs are as followings

EA0DS1 LAN-A ├в 172.16.128.74/26
EA0DS1 LAN-B ├в 172.16.160.74/26

Now what I did I add my combo Ethernet card on my DS10 server(installed at plateform) and was able to see it in SHOW|MORE
EWC0 (newly installed combo card)