New Discussion юеВ

Re: read/write binary file with HP C

SOLVED
Go to solution
Jeff Shangguan

read/write binary file with HP C

Hi all,
I'm a new C programmer on VMS.
I find C programing is not the same as on Windows. for example, I want to read a TEXT file in BINARY mode, and then output the content in a new file. So I write the following code segment:
const int maxSize = 1024;
char buffer[maxSize];
FILE *fp = fopen(inFilename, "rb");
int size = fread(buffer, 1, maxSize, fp);
fclose(fp);
fp = fopen(outFilename, "wb");
fwrite(buffer, 1, size, fp);
fclose(fp);

but after running this code segment, I find there's no newline character in the output file, say, all the contents in the input file are merged in one line.

I think the problem may be the rfm or ctx option. I tried to set these options but still no correct output.

So I wander how to duplicate a file exactly as the original one.
Can any one help me on this issue?
BTW, the rfm of the original input file is VAR.

Thank you
10 REPLIES 10
Hoff
Honored Contributor

Forget what you know about Windows when you're working on OpenVMS; you're in a whole different world.

As for your code, I expect the newly created file is marked as a binary file. I'd have to look at a DIRECTORY /FULL and a DUMP of the file contents to see what was in it. But if the file was created binary, I'd expect OpenVMS to display it as binary data. Then there's the "fun" of line termination. Windows doesn't "do" this sort of low-level sequential file format stuff, and OpenVMS has multiple line terminators for sequential files available to the programmer.

Sequential files come in a variety of formats. To see which sequential formats are in use here, use the DIRECTORY /FULL command.