108757 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: what to do with WBEM$ process

SOLVED
Go to solution
Byron Fowlkes
Advisor

what to do with WBEM$ process

during last night's maintenance on network hardware a switch/router configuration changed and today our OpenVMS cluster has its performance being degraded by a process named WBEM$CPQNIC on all nodes.. what can I do to investigate this process.. degradation means that this process alone is usurping most available CPU cycles and affecting normal user tasks.. I have no knowledge of this service?
You Brought Two Too Many
7 REPLIES 7
Volker Halle
Honored Contributor
Solution

Byron,

looks like a looping process. Shutdown WBEM (=Insight Management Agent) and restart it:

$ @SYS$SPECIFIC:[WBEM]WBEM$SHUTDOWN

and

$ @SYS$SPECIFIC:[WBEM]WBEM$STARTUP

Here is the pointer to the WBEM page at the HP site:

http://h71000.www7.hp.com/openvms/products/mgmt_agents/

Volker.
Byron Fowlkes
Advisor

this answer seems to be correct.. after a bounce on each node this process subsided and things look much better now..I am unfamiliar with what this thing does but I certainly know more about it now.. much thanx Volker
You Brought Two Too Many
Hoff
Honored Contributor

That's a bug in one of the HP management agents.

If you have support in place, contact HP for help.

As part of calling up HP, you can sample the PCs (SHOW PROCESS /CONTINUOUS or such) to get an idea of what range of PCs are involved in what is probably a loop. Gather a dozen or two of the PC values.

You can also drop the process to priority zero and let it tussle with the idle process loop. Once you have some PCs, you can also then restart WBEM or force the process to suspend temporarily via SET PROCESS /SUSPEND, too.

When you contact HP, you'll be asked to confirm you are on the current version of the WBEM tools. If not, you'll be asked to upgrade to the current versions.
Jan van den Ende
Honored Contributor

Byron,

from your Forum Profile: