108795 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Need larger root disk, step-by-step instructions

SOLVED
Go to solution
R Swenson
Frequent Advisor

Need larger root disk, step-by-step instructions

I'm trying to upgrade to Tru64 version 5.1a from 5.1 and my root domain has only about 8MB free space. I have cleaned out all I can and need to replace the current disk with a larger one, then redefine the root partition to 2GB.

I am a relative newbie with a disk on my desk and a StorageWorks cabinet. Where do I go from here (and please be specific)?
9 REPLIES 9
Ivan Ferreira
Honored Contributor

This could be a problem, because you cannot use addvol for the root domain to increase the space. Your options are:

- Delete more files
- Backup, destroy, restore your root domain.

How large is your root file system? Can you post the output of df -k? Normally 100-250 MB should be used in the root domain.

What is the exact model of your storage box?
Por que hacerlo dificil si es posible hacerlo facil? - Why do it the hard way, when you can do it the easy way?
R Swenson
Frequent Advisor

Filesystem 1024-blocks Used Available Capacity Mounted on
root_domain#root 131720 115827 8824 93% /
/proc 0 0 0 100% /proc
usr_domain#usr 2097144 1231888 662544 66% /usr

The root domain is 131MB total, it was set up back in 1998 and looks like it was set up according to system recommendations back then (Version 4.0D).

If I need to backup root, do I also need to backup /adm and /var as well? Do I need a swap space on the root disk? I believe the current disk is a 4.3GB disk, how much space should be partitioned for each?

The storage box in question is a DS-SWXES-BA StorageWorks 10000 Enterprise Storage Array. The CPU is an AlphaServer 1200 with 1 - 4.3GB disk mounted within its cabinet (I'm guessing this is the disk in question). There are 6 addidional open slots in the AlphaServer cabinet. Thanks!
R Swenson
Frequent Advisor