108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: TRU 64 Printing

SOLVED
Go to solution
Dave Campbell_5
Occasional Advisor

TRU 64 Printing

I am having a problem with my printing setup on my Tru 64 system. I am new to this environment so any help would be appreciated.

We currently have 13 printers that are printing remotely from this server. The problem is that whenever any of the 13 printers is unplugged for any reason this stops the print jobs to the other servers. When this happens I have to restart the spooler to get the jobs to print.

Is there any way to get around this issue? We really only need our two main printers running all the time. Is using a different port for those two printers an option?

Thanks
7 REPLIES 7
Michael Elleby III_1
Trusted Contributor

Dave, I'm currently running a 4.0D box that has 20+ remote printers attached. Whenever I unplug any of these printers when I'm having issues, the first thing I do is to 'disable and down' the queue to minimize any issues with the spooler:

lpc disable queuename
lpc down queuename

Once I've brought the printer back online, I then bring up and re-enable the queue:

lpc up queuename
lpc enable queuename

HTH,

Mike-
Knowledge Is Power
Ralf Puchner
Honored Contributor

What version of Tru64 are you using?
Which patchkit is installed?
Are all the printers connected to the same printserver?
What does /var/adm/syslog.dated/current/lpr.log say about the time one of the printers is down?
Could you please post one of the printcap entries?
Help() { FirstReadManual(urgently); Go_to_it;; }
Dave Campbell_5
Occasional Advisor

Sorry for taking so long to reply. It has been a busy week.

To answer your questions:
We are running 5.1A.

I am unsure what patchkit we have. I try the dupatch command and it says command not found and I'm not sure exactly how to find this info.

We have different print servers for the servers.(servers are at various locations)