Simpler Navigation for Servers and Operating Systems
Completed: a much simpler Servers and Operating Systems section of the Community. We combined many of the older boards, so you won't have to click through so many levels to get at the information you need. Check the consolidated boards here as many sub-forums are now single boards.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Time Zone

SOLVED
Go to solution
Emad Omar
Regular Advisor

Time Zone

Hi. We have a Tru64 5.1A server, we installed it with Asia Amman Time Zone. The Server time has been returned back one hour at the first of October . I need to disable this option and then change the time manualy. Please advise. . .
1 REPLY
Johan Brusche
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: Time Zone


This is not an option, there are international agreements that the dayligth savings time should change at that particular moment in your area.

cd /etc/zoneinfo
# zdump -v Asia/Amman | grep 2004

Asia/Amman Wed Oct 13 15:43:06 2004 EET
Asia/Amman Wed Mar 24 21:59:59 2004 GMT = Wed Mar 24 23:59:59 2004 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200
Asia/Amman Wed Mar 24 22:00:00 2004 GMT = Thu Mar 25 01:00:00 2004 EEST isdst=1 gmtoff=10800
Asia/Amman Wed Sep 29 21:59:59 2004 GMT = Thu Sep 30 00:59:59 2004 EEST isdst=1 gmtoff=10800
Asia/Amman Wed Sep 29 22:00:00 2004 GMT = Thu Sep 30 00:00:00 2004 EET isdst=0 gmtoff=7200
#

So why is it that you want to disbale this ?

If you never want "Dayligth Savings Time", then you should replace the link /etc/zoneinfo/localtime and make it point to GMT-2

_Johan_

_JB_